Patron Prof. P Rama Rao, ARCI, Hyderabad
Emeritus President Prof. B Dattaguru, IISc, Bangalore
President Prof. Ashok Saxena, Univ. of Arkansas, USA

Senior Vice President

Dr. R Sunder, BiSS, Bangalore
Vice President Prof. VikramJayaram, IISc, Bangalore
Secretary Dr. CM Manjunatha, CSIR-NAL, Bangalore
Treasurer Dr. Shylaja Srihari, CSIR-NAL, Bangalore
Council Members Prof. ES Dwarakadasa, KHMD Ltd., Bangalore

Dr. S. Tarafder, CSIR-NML, Jamshedpur

Dr. G Raghava, CSIR-SERC, Chennai

Chairman, Technical Committee Prof. Raghu Prakash, IITM, Chennai (Aero/Mech)

Dr. JK Chakravartty, BARC, Mumbai (Power and Energy)

Dr. K.Satish Kumar, Altair, Bangalore  (Computational Mechanics)

Chairman, Nominations Committee Prof. BK Raghu Prasad, IISc, Bangalore
Chairman, Honors and Awards Committee Prof. S. Gopalakrishnan, IISc, Bangalore


Chairman, Long-range Planning Committee Dr. Vikas Kumar, DMRL, Hyderabad


Chairman, Publication Committee Dr. K Badari Narayana, BMSIT, Bangalore


Biographical Sketch of Dr. Ashok Saxena

Dr. Ashok Saxena is a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Arkansas where in the past he has served as the Provost and Vice-Chancellor of Academic Affairs, the Dean of Engineering and the Raymond and Irma Giffels’ Chair, and the Billingsley Endowed Chair. He is also an Adjunct Professor in the School of Materials Science and Engineering at Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta, GA. Dr. Saxena previously held the position of Regents’ Professor and Chair of the School of Materials Science and Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta and was a Fellow Scientist at the Westinghouse Research and Development Center in Pittsburgh. He also served as the Vice Chancellor of Galgotias University in India for a two-year period between 2012-2014.
Dr. Saxena received his MS and PhD degrees from University of Cincinnati in 1972 and 1974, respectively in Materials Science and Metallurgical Engineering and his B. Tech degree from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur in 1970 in Mechanical Engineering.
Dr. Saxena’s area of research is mechanical behavior of materials focusing on linear and nonlinear fracture mechanics and fracture in materials at high temperatures under creep and creep-fatigue conditions. He is the recipient of numerous awards and recognitions in the field of fracture research that include the George Irwin Medal (1992) from ASTM, the ASTM Award of Merit and Fellow (1994), Fellow of ASM International (1996), Fellow of International Congress on Fracture (2009) and Georgia Tech Outstanding Research Author Award (1993). He is a recipient of the Wohler Fatigue Medal from the European Structural Integrity Society (ESIS, 2010) and is an elected Fellow of the European Academy of Sciences (2016) and the recipient of the Paul C. Paris Gold Medal from International Congress on Fracture (2017). He has authored/co-authored/edited eight books and over 250 research publications.

Dr. R. Sunder, Research Director, Bangalore Integrated System Solutions (P) Ltd,

MTech, PhD in Aeronautical Engineering (1978) Kiev Institute of Civil Aviation. Fellow, Indian Academy of Sciences (from 1995).
Research in aeronautical fatigue and airframe residual strength at the National Aerospace Laboratories, Bangalore, India (1978-1993), Air Force Materials Laboratory, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio (1986-88).
Test technology development for materials, components and structures. These include digitally controlled servo-hydraulic, servo-electric, servo-electromagnetic single and multi-channel test systems for uniaxial, axial-torsion, biaxial testing of metals and composites to determine static, fatigue, fracture and elastomeric properties and multi-channel structural testing related to automotive, aerospace, nuclear energy, marine and railway engineering.
Founder, Bangalore Integrated System Solutions (P) Ltd (BISS) in 1992, a leading developer, manufacturer of test systems for customers worldwide. BISS is now a subsidiary of ITW, USA, a NYSE listed Fortune-200 holding company.
Member, ASTM (from 1985) and ASTM Committee E-8 (Fatigue & Fracture) & D30 (Composites).
About 60 peer reviewed publications.

Prof. Vikram Jayaram received his bachelor's in natural sciences from Cambridge University and his PhD  in Materials Science & Engineering from Stanford University. Following postdoctoral research at University of California he joined Indian Institute of Science in 1990, where he is currently a professor in Department of Materials Engineering and Chair of the Division of Mechanical Sciences. His interests lie in the area of mechanical behaviour of coatings, processing of ceramics and their composites, and electron microscopy. He is a fellow of all the science and engineering academies in India and of the Indian Institute of Metals and The American Ceramic Society. He serves on the editorial boards of Bulletin of Materials Science, and Journal of the American Ceramic Society and is currently Chair of the Minerals, Metals and Materials PAC of Science and Engineering Research Board.